Flight of Five Locks Restoration & Repair
This project entailed the restoration and repair of two of the five locks, and reconstruction of two lock gates on the Erie Canal at Lockport, NY. Numbered Locks 67-71 are formerly known as the Flight of Five. The Flight of Five locks are listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The original locks were constructed in 1830 and reconstructed in the 1860s under the design of renowned engineer Thomas Evershed.
McMullan provided detailed inspection, material testing, test openings, preliminary design, and contract documents. The goal of the project was to have several of the Flight of Five locks in operating condition to provide an opportunity for the public to experience and learn how the historic canal locks performed. The project included removal of sediments, stabilization of the wooden planks and floor beams, and restoration of the stone masonry walls. It also involved the research and design of three different heights of lock gates to replicate the historic operating system, structural timber framing, and balance beams. All restoration work complied with the State Historic Preservation Office and the Standards for Treatment of Historic Properties by the Secretary of the Interior.
City of Lockport